What am I Worth

The café is filled with people and as I look around I can’t help but to think about myself. People seem so please with their life, but my life is on pause. I am searching and trying to figure out who I am? I look for something that I can associate myself with, such as, Teen Magazines, Instagram, Facebook, and YouTube and there is no connection. Who am I and what is my significance, I constantly ask myself? Things in my life is not comprehensible. I’m walking the streets with a dark cloud hovering over me.  Am I the only one trying to figure out my purpose? Are there others like me? I feel like I am the “Walking dead.” Hopeless. Getting up going to school every day but yet I am not hearing a thing. Laughing when there is really no happiness inside of me. Putting on a wardrobe that does not fit. Hiding behind make-up effortlessly to blend in the crowd, but yet I do not measure up. I am screaming inside “Can someone tell me the reason I exist.” There is a missing piece in my life and it is unexplainable.

My thoughts are interrupted, “Excuse me is there someone sitting here?”

“No.”  As I move my books. “Have a seat. Please.”

“It is a beautiful day outside,” she said cheerfully. “My name is Faith. What is your name?”

“Destiny.”

“Nice to meet you Destiny.”

Ms. Faith begin to share with me a story about a man that died on the cross for us over a thousand years ago. I asked her, “Who would die on a cross for me and we haven’t even met? He does not even know me.” She responded, “Oh yes dear He knows you. He knew you before you were even born. He was the one who created you. He created you in His image and likeness. That is how much thought that He put into your existence.”

I became puzzled not truly understanding what this lady was talking about. I thought to myself, a man created me in His image. Heck, I don’t even know what He looks like. Hmm. I don’t even know what I look like yet to be made in someone else’s image that is weird.

She begin to explain to me that when He died on the cross that He had me in His thoughts and in His heart. She continue to say that the love that He has for me is never ending. It goes deeper than what any man can give me, it covers a multitude of faults. They haven’t created a word yet that explains the depth of the love that this man has for me. As I am listening to Ms. Faith speak my heart begins to soften. I started feeling the words she was speaking to me.

She went on and said, “Honey He knew you before you knew you.”

I said, “That is my problem I don’t know who I am.”

“Your identity sweetie is in the man that I have been sharing with you. He is your identity. He is the worth that you have been seeking. He is the reason that you were created. We are His workmanship. The quality that He put in you, the labor that He executed when He made you is of great detail.”

While listening to Ms. Faith share with me the creator of my creation was thought provoking. He has taken time to tailor form me. Not only did he form me, but in His image. It sounded like I was important. Valuable. Significant enough that He took the time to create me in His likeness. She went on to say that I am fearfully and wonderfully made in the image of God and that I will find my purpose in Him.

I begin to hear her say, “You are a product of Gods workmanship. When God created you and me He executed it with love, thoughtfulness, care, kindness and gentleness.”

This woman shared with me that God is the one who loved me enough to fashion me in His image and when I look at myself, I should look at myself through the lenses of God. Not people. Not social media. Not things. I should view myself as God views me.  As she continue to share with me my vision became clearer.  But sitting with this woman, whom I did not know, until the end of the conversation, have made my blinded eyes see who I am. My value is in God and not things. He is my treasure. He is the reason why I live. My understanding is that the more I read my Bible and get closer to God the more clearly I am able to see who I am and know my purpose.

As we ended the conversation, Ms. Faith, gave me a hug, wrote a scripture on a napkin, and handed it to me:

I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully

 made;

Marvelous are Your works,

And that my soul knows

Very well.

         Psalms 139:14 (nkjv).

There are many people that struggle in life because of “Identity Crisis.” Share with me your story if there was a time that you struggle with or struggling with finding out your true purpose in life.

Jeremiah 31:3    John 3:16   Psalms 139:14   Ephesians 2:10

Leave a Reply

